Creative Juices

Been a couple of months of neglect on my part in regards to keeping my blog updated, but with everything going on this year I think I am be forgiven. 2020 has been absolutely nuts. We are all currently living the new normal while still trying to get back to our old normal, its very strange. I have actually found 2020 to be a blessing and a curse, obviously its a horrendous pandemic but I found it to be welcoming pause. I enjoyed the lockdown, due to being very fortunate in having a job and still working throughout, but also because I was able to take a step back and truly focus on my creative abilities which I had been ignoring for a couple of years. I hadn’t given up being a creative but it was sidelined by work and other life responsibilities. This year I was able to publish my own books onto Amazon, get them stocked in a local bookstore and then really pursue more freelance creative avenues. In the past 6 weeks I have been painting personalised baubles, 109 of them to be exact, which I am over the moon about. This has led to other requests including personalised portraits which I have been able to sell for a lot more. The rise in my social media followings and likes has been a boost as well. I try not to dwell on social media as I found it to be a false window of success but it is nice to have genuine followers who actually want to see my posts, like, save and share. From not drawing for months on end to now painting, illustrating and designing every single day I feel I have all my creative juices flowing and I love it. I hope to continue this small shred of success into 2021 and continue to build my creative abilities and social media presence. It would be amazing to one day be able to quit my day desk job and solely rely on my art to bring in a income but until then I will be sketching, painting and posting. 🙂 

Leave a comment