Primary Research- Leaving a mark

Had a lovely session this week. I once again went through research with my students (This is something that are still struggling to document properly) however thats a little harsh, some are doing it perfectly. I decided to have a full session mark making and recreating designs from my learners favourite artists. I tried to channel my inner pollock, which I think did work, a little. The students seemed to enjoy taking a step away from the computers. I think its good to sometimes take a step back and just experiment and play with different mediums and processes. I have told them this kind of stuff is amazing to have evidenced in their sketchbook as its classed as primary research. Overall it was a fab little session, everyone got involved and it was really pleasant. I just need now to make sure my learners are keeping up to date with all of their work that is expected to be competed in their own time. I think I am best making a weekly or even a monthly planner so they do not get overwhelmed with the pending assignments they have. I will get this ready for them next week.

Leave a comment