interactive PDF

In our last few sessions with Shirley, we went onto Indesign, I am fairly confident on Indesign as I have used the application in previous projects and briefs. However I have never used it to create something that was interactive, So it was pretty exciting when Shirley had us make a plain document called button tester. We simply create 4 boxes, two represented the pages and the little two was what you pressed to move back and forth, we changed the colours of the boxes so we could see our findings. I right clicked on these boxes to make them interactive and convert them to a button or object. Once I had gotten the grasp of doing it, I wanted to use it on work it can relate to and improve upon. So I picked my previous brief, Thinking types. This worked very well as my magazine was created on indesign so I used my new skills to add to my current pages. I added * symbol to the bottom of every page so you could click these to jump back and forth to upcoming or previous pages.
Lets go back to basics first when setting up this document you can open straight away and put the settings intended for the web and having the page size 1024 by 768. I have recorded my screen so you can see the changes happening by a click. I also made objects move continuously, for example on my front page I have a star symbol (representing Vince Frost) and I added the effect so I could make it turn in a loop. All of these actions created are hid until trigged so until you click something nothing will happen, completely reliant on someone interacting with the document. This would work really well for creating a Creative CV as it engages the employer and makes a difference from boring pieces of paper.
One of the pages didn’t have any interacting buttons so I decided to add a video. I just downloaded it off youtube and converted it so I could then have further interaction but having a video, which didn’t need anyone to touch it, it played as soon as the page was opened.
I have used Vimeo to upload my screen recording, as I find this the most effective website and tool to upload and share videos.
Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 12.27.43

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 12.09.02
Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 12.08.15

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 12.05.17

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 12.08.08

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 12.08.00

Leave a comment